Writing and Linguistics
College of Arts and Humanities

Directory

Department Chair

NameTitleCampusContact InformationTeaching & Research Interests
Russell WillertonProfessorStatesboro & Armstrong

1118B Newton Building (S)


Gamble Hall 228 (A)


912-478-0230


rwillerton@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Texas Tech University, 2005

Plain Language, Technical Editing, Ethics in Technical Communication, Document Design

Administrative Assistants

NameCampusContact Information Title
Patricia ByrdStatesboro

1118A Newton Building


912-478-0739


pbyrd@georgiasouthern.edu

Senior Administrative Assistant
Cynthia DeVoeArmstrong

Gamble Hall 105


912-344-2594


cynthia.devoe@georgiasouthern.edu

Senior Administrative Assistant
Debbie LawrenceStatesboro

1118 Newton Building


912-478-0141


dglawrence@georgiasouthern.edu

Staff Assistant

Faculty

William Belford Lecturer Armstrong

Gamble Hall 233


912-344-3256


wbelfod@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Florida State University


Creative Writing, British and American Literature, Composition

Andrew Berger Lecturer Statesboro, Armstrong

1122E Newton Building | Gamble Hall 240


912-478-0881 | 912-344-2729 


amberger@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Eastern Kentucky University, 2011

First-Year Writing, Composition Pedagogy, Critical Theory, Popular Culture

Renee Berry Lecturer Armstrong

Gamble Hall 143


912-344-3146


rberry@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Binghamton University


Composition and Rhetoric, Literature, Basic Writing/Reading, Children’s and YA Literature, Fantasy and Science Fiction, Public Speaking, Mark Twain

Marie Bliemeister Limited Term Faculty Statesboro

2219D Newton Building


912-478-8570


mbliemeister@georgiasouthern.edu

 

 

Monique Bos Lecturer Statesboro

3304B Newton Building


912-478-2427


mbos@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Pennsylvania State University, 1998


First-Year Writing, Business/ Professional Writing & Editing, Writing & Editing for Web, Contemporary Fiction, Creative Writing

Margaret Brockland-Nease Lecturer Armstrong

Gamble Hall 212


912-344-2717


mbrocklandnease@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Florida


First Year Composition, Professional & Technical Communications

Christopher Cartright Lecturer Armstrong

Gamble Hall 208


912-344-2597


ccartright@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Florida State University, 2012


Composition, Creative Writing, First Year Experience, Gender Studies, Literature, Information Literacy, Global Popular Media, Political Discourse & Ideology

Cameron Rocker Clements Lecturer Statesboro

2225A Newton Building


912-478-0373


cclements@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2013


First-Year Writing, English Literature, Irish Studies, Adolescent Literature

Lisa A. Costello Professor Statesboro

2221D Newton | 2288C-D Carroll


912-478-5561 | 912-478-7879


lacostello@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Louisiana State University & A&M College, 2007


Rhetoric & Composition, Holocaust Memorialization, Gender Studies, Autobiography, Culture & Memory Studies

Janet Dale Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Statesboro

3305E Newton Building


912-478-5936


jdale@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Georgia College & State University, 2013


First-Year Writing, Composition Studies, Creative Writing, Flash Fiction, Lyrical & Narrative Nonfiction, Found Poetry, Feature/News Writing, Gender & Women’s Studies, Gothic American Lit, Pop Culture

Marissa Davis Limited Term Faculty Statesboro

2224 Newton Building


912-478-7749


marissadavis@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University


Holocaust Studies/Memorialization, Historical Representation Through Genre, Memory, Trauma, & The Witness

Bill Dawers Lecturer Armstrong

Gamble Hall 132


912-344-2594


wdawers@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Washington University


Composition, Sophomore Literature, Media Ethics

Julie Douberly Lecturer Statesboro

1119C Newton Building


912-478-0962


juliedouberly@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2003


First-Year Writing, Instructional Technology, Fandom Studies

Benjamin Drevlow Lecturer Statesboro

3304A Newton Building


912-478-5902


bdrevlow@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2006


Short Stories & The Novel, First-Year Writing, Digital Literacy, Memoir/Autobiographical Fiction, Southern Gothic Literature, Grit Lit, Satire & Humor

Lisa Dusenberry Associate Professor Armstrong

Gamble Hall 141


912-344-2733


ldusenberry@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Florida, 2013


Technical & Professional Communication Pedagogy, Collaboration, Design Thinking, Coding & Game Design, Digital Tools & Writing Pedagogy, Multimodal Communication, Children’s Digital Culture

Katherine Fallon Lecturer Statesboro

2225D Newton Building


912-478-2218


kfallon@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Sarah Lawrence College, 2006


First-Year Writing, Creative Writing (Poetry), Pop Culture, Mass Media, Gender Studies, Women’s Studies, LGBTQ Studies

Christopher Garland Assistant Professor Statesboro

2224B Newton Building


912-478-5248


cgarland@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Florida, 2014


Interdisciplinary Writing, Visual Rhetoric, Caribbean Studies, Nonfiction, Postcolonial Literature

Timothy Giles Professor Statesboro

1122G Newton Building


912-478-0229


tgiles@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2004


Technical Communication, Metaphor Studies, Classical Rhetoric, Postmodern Rhetoric, Rhetoric of Science & Technology, Technical Communication Pedagogy

Ishimine Goins Limited-Term Faculty Statesboro

2225E Newton Building


912-478-0151


igions@georgiasouthern.edu

 
Breanna Harris Limited-Term Faculty Statesboro

1120B Newton Building


912-478-2369


bbharris@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University


The American Short Story, Realism, Naturalism, Modernism, 20th Century American Literature, and Irish Literature

Amanda Hedrick Senior Lecturer Statesboro

1120D Newton Building


912-478-0234


ahedrick@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Maine, 2009


First-Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Gender & Women’s Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Social Media Composition, Professional Writing, National Writing Project

Abigail Hey Limited Term Faculty Statesboro

2219E Newton Building


912-478-0374


ahey@georgiasouthern.edu

 
Natalie James Ingalsbe Lecturer Statesboro

1122B Newton Building


912-478-4202


nataliejames@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Delaware, 2013


First-Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Identity Studies, Pedagogical Methods with Digital Media, Postcolonial Literature & Theory

Carol Jamison Professor Armstrong

Gamble Hall 238, Newton 2224


912-344-3097


cjamison@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Georgia


Chaucer, Early English Literature, History of the English Language, Advanced Grammar, Arthurian Literature

June Joyner Principal Lecturer Statesboro

1122F Newton Building


912-478-0153


jbjoy@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2002


First-Year Writing, Critical Thinking, Teaching Writing, National Writing Project, Popular Culture, Professional Development in Higher Ed

Drew Keane Lecturer Statesboro

1119D Newton Building


912-478-0153


dkeane@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2012


First Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Critical Thinking, National Writing Project, English Literature, 18th Century, Biblical Literature, Religious Studies

Joshua Lavender Limited-Term Faculty Statesboro

2222E Newton Building

912-478-0986

jlavender@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., University of Maryland, 2014


First-Year Writing, Creative Writing, Prosody and Contemporary Poetics, Genre Innovations in Fiction

Marti Lee Lecturer Statesboro

1122A Newton Building


912-478-0547


mlee@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 2019


First-Year Writing, English Literature, Critical Thinking, Popular Culture, Postcolonial Studies, Nationalist Literature, Medieval Literature, Irish Studies

Danelle LeJune Limited-Term Faculty Liberty Center

Gamble Hall 227



dlejune@georgiasouthern.edu

 
Jinrong Li Associate Professor Statesboro

2218C Newton Building


912-478-5263


jli@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Iowa State University, 2012


TESOL, L2 Writing Instruction and Assessment, Corpus Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, Language Testing, and Research Methods in Applied Linguistics

Nan LoBue Senior Lecturer Statesboro

2219C Newton Building


912-478-0641


nlobue@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A.L.S., Wesleyan University, 1984


First-Year Writing, Sociolinguistics, Composition Pedagogy, Writing Assessment, Grammar, 18th Century English Literature, History of Rhetoric

Brandon Loper Lecturer Statesboro

1119D Newton Building


912-478-0149


bloper@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Tennessee, 2003


First-Year Writing, Cultural Studies, Post-War American Literature, Critical Theory

Heather Lowry Limited Term Faculty Armstrong

Gamble Hall 241


912-344-3344


hlowry@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Youngstown University, 2010

Margaret Mauk Limited Term Faculty Statesboro

2221B Newton Building


912-478-1377


mmauk@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Annie Mendenhall Associate Professor Armstrong

Gamble Hall 235


912-344-3603


amendenhall@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Ohio State University


Rhetoric, Writing, Composition Theory and Pedagogy, Archival Research

Marcus Mitchell Lecturer Liberty Center

Liberty Center 117


912-877-1910


mmitchell@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University


Victorian Literature and Culture, First-Year Writing, Technical and Professional Communication, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Brandi Moody Lecturer Statesboro

2222B Newton Building


912-478-5730


bmoody@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2015


First-Year Writing, Writing Center Pedagogy & Practice, Shakespeare & the Renaissance

Tony Morris Professor Armstrong

Gamble Hall 204


912-344-3123


tmorris@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Florida State University


Journalism, Creative Writing, Literature

Christy Mroczek Senior Lecturer Armstrong

Gamble Hall 133


912-344-2718


cmroczek@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Clemson University


Technical Writing, Publication Design, Writing for Non-profit Organizations

Claire Nelson Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Statesboro

1119B Newton Building


912-478-0421


cnelson@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A. Florida State University, 2014


First-Year Writing

Sheila Nielsen Lecturer Statesboro

2218E Newton Building


912-478-5566


snielsen@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2015


First-Year Writing, 20th Century American Literature, Writing Project, Interdisciplinary Studies, Writing Across the Curriculum

Michael Odom Limited-Term Faculty Statesboro

2218D Newton Building


912-478-0226


modom@georgiasouthern.edu

J.D., Samford University
 
First-Year Writing, Online Learning, Teaching Writing, National Writing Project, Media Law, Creative Nonfiction
Christina Olson Associate Professor Statesboro

2221C Newton Building


912-478-0124


colson@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2007


Creative Writing (Poetry & Creative Nonfiction)

Aron Pease Lecturer Statesboro

2222B Newton Building


912-478-5707


apease@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Florida, 2010


First-Year Writing

Michael Pemberton Professor Statesboro

1120C Newton Building


912-478-1383


michaelp@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, 1989


Writing Centers, Writing Across the Curriculum, Computers & Writing, Writing Program Administration, Writing Theory, Comics Studies

Krista Petrosino Lecturer Statesboro

2222D Newton Building


912-478-6993


kpetrosino@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Bowling Green State University, 2012

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Writing Studies, First Year Writing, Outcomes Assessment, Writing Assessment 

Deborah Reese Associate Professor Armstrong

Gamble Hall 121


912-344-3142


deborahreese@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Texas, Arlington


Composition, Rhetoric, Literature

Curtis Ricker Professor Statesboro

1120E Newton Building


912-478-0884


cricker@georgiasouthern.edu 

 
Joanna Schreiber Associate Professor Statesboro

2222C Newton Building


912-478-5908


jschreiber@georgiasouthern.edu 

Ph.D., Michigan Technological University, 2013


Technical & Professional Communication, Usability & User Experience (UX), Business & Management Communication, Workplace Studies, Rhetorics of Science & Technology

Amanda Schumacher Lecturer Statesboro

2221A Newton Building


912-478-5750


aaschumacher@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2011


Creative Writing (Fiction), Young Adult Literature, First-Year Writing

Jared Yates Sexton Associate Professor Statesboro

2224B Newton Building


912-478-1326


jsexton@georgiasouthern.edu 

M.F.A., Southern Illinois University, 2008


Fiction, Creative Writing, Narrative, Realism, Surrealism, Minimalism, Maximalism, Working Class Literature, Changing Masculine Roles, Screenwriting, Popular Culture, Publishing

Christopher Smith Lecturer Statesboro

3305D Newton Building


912-478-6992


christophersmith@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., University of Nebraska in Omaha, 2009


Technical Writing, First-Year Writing, Creative Writing (Fiction & Nonfiction), Screenwriting, Online Education, Film Studies & Production, Animation, YA & MG Literature, Graphic Novels, Video Games in Academia

Jessica Spearman Lecturer Statesboro

2218A Newton Building


912-478-7328


jspearman@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2014


First-Year Writing, Creative Writing (Nonfiction & Poetry), Writing about Social Issues (Social Responsibility & Social Justice), Philosophical Writing (Empiricism, Existentialism, Feminist Philosophy & Transcendentalism), Writing about Self Identity

Robert Terry Associate Professor Armstrong

Gamble Hall 239


912-344-3606


rterry@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Louisville


Professional Communication, Creative Writing, Gender Studies, Game Studies, American Literature

Susan Thompson Part-Time Faculty Liberty Center

Liberty Center 227


912-877-1906


sthompson@georgiasouthern.edu 

 
Terry Thompson Assistant Professor Statesboro

2225C Newton Building


912-478-7079


twthom@georgiasouthern.edu 

Ed.D., University of Northern Colorado, 1985


American & British Literature

Laura Valeri Professor Statesboro

1119E Newton Building


912-478-5889


lvaleri@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., University of Iowa, 2002

M.F.A., Florida International University, 2000


Fiction, Screenwriting, Creative Writing, Nonfiction and Memoir, Creativity, Mythology, Comparative Religion, Teaching Online, Teaching Technology

LeighAnn Williams Lecturer Statesboro

1124B Newton Building


912-478-1866


lawilliams@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 1995


Creative Nonfiction, National Writing Project, First-Year Experience, Narratives, Multigenre/Multimodal Writing, LILAC Project (Learning Information Literacy Across the Curriculum)

Department Technology Manager

NameCampusContact InformationTitle
Jenna BaytoStatesboroIAB Suite 1038
jbayto@georgiasouthern.edu

Technology Manager


Department of Writing & Linguistics

Department Academic Advisors

NameCampusContact InformationTitle
Megan BowenStatesboro

Suite 1038, IAB

mbowen@georgiasouthern.edu

Academic Advisor
Stephanie HerrenArmstrong

SSC 125

spower@georgiasouthern.edu

Academic Advisor

English Language Program

NameCampusContact InformationTitle
Amy PerryStatesboro

IAB 2012

aperry@georgiasouthern.edu
Staff

Last updated: 9/7/2020

Department of Writing & Linguistics • P.O. Box 8026 • Statesboro, GA 30460 • 912-478-0739