Skip to main content

Department spring award ceremony recognizes students, faculty

Professor Nan LoBue, the previous recipient of the Dorothy Smith Golden Award for Teaching Excellence, presents Professor Natalie James with the 2018 award.

L-R, back row: Amir Alexander, Tralen Rhone, Matthew Howard, Olivia Murphy L-R, front row: Blakelee Bartee and Jonathan Baker

Tralen Rhone, George Brannen, and Amir Alexander

The Department of Writing and Linguistics held its first spring award ceremony on Friday, April 13, 2018, from 3-4 p.m. in IT1005. The award ceremony recognized the following:

  • Natalie James, faculty recipient for the Dorothy Smith Golden Award for Teaching Excellence
  • Darianne Perez, the student recipient of the Starnes/Brannen Scholarship. Olivia Murphy was a finalist for the scholarship.
  • Matthew Howard, Olivia Hester, Rachel Doggett, Blakeley Bartee, and Jonathan Baker, whose creative work in poetry, creative nonfiction, and fiction was nominated for the AWP Intro Journals Project.
  • Tralen Rhone and Amir Alexander, who won the Brannen Creative Writing Award in poetry and fiction.

Posted in Alumni and Majors, Awards, Faculty News, News