Skip to main content

Peter Cashwell campus visit & The Harbuck Scholarship reading and reception

The 2014 Harbuck Scholarship Award Reading and Reception will be held Friday, September 12,  at 7 p.m. in the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Information Technology, Room 1005.

Final judge Peter Cashwell chose Sarah Fonseca as the winner of this year’s Harbuck Scholarship Award. T.J. Morgan and Aleyna Rentz are the two finalists. Twenty-one writing majors were nominated and fourteen applied for the award.

The Harbuck Scholarship honors Ally Harbuck, a free-spirited creative writing major from Savannah who died in a traffic accident in 2005 at the age of nineteen, one week before the end of her freshman year at Georgia Southern.  She wrote for The George-Anne and was active in the Gay-Straight Alliance and the National Organization for Women on campus.  Her parents, Debi and David Harbuck of Savannah, raised the funds to endow the scholarship.

Cashwell grew up in Chapel Hill and attended the University of North Carolina. His writing has appeared in The Comics Journal, in OnEarth Magazine, and on WVTF Radio. His first book, The Verb ‘To Bird’, was published by Paul Dry Books in 2003 and went on to be selected as a Discover! book by Barnes and Noble, a BookSense 76 pick by the American Booksellers Association, and one of “Martha’s Favorite Books” by the producers of Martha Stewart Living Television. Cashwell will give a reading from his work  in conjunction with the award ceremony Thursday, September 11, at 7 p.m. in CEIT, Room 1005. Both readings are free and open to the public.

The Department of Writing & Linguistics is housed in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Georgia Southern’s College of the Creative Mind. CLASS prepares its students to achieve academic excellence, develop their analytical skills, enhance their creativity, and embrace their responsibilities as citizens of their communities, nations, and world. For more information about the Harbuck Scholarship and other Writing & Linguistic student awards, see the Awards page.


Posted in News, Visiting Writers