Skip to main content

Sarah Fonseca wins 2014 Harbuck Award

Final judge Peter Cashwell has chosen Sarah Fonseca as the winner of this year’s Harbuck Scholarship Award. T.J. Morgan and Aleyna Rentz are the two finalists.

Twenty-one writing majors were nominated and 14 applied for the award. The Harbuck Committee, comprising of Professors Laura Valeri, Emma Bolden, and Eric Nelson, agreed that this year’s entries were among the strongest they have ever received and that narrowing the field to three finalists to send to Cashwell was a difficult decision.

Fonseca will receive her award at the annual Harbuck Scholarship Award Reading and Reception, Friday, September 12, at 7 p.m. in the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Information Technology (CEIT), Room 1005.

Cashwell is author of the books The Verb “To Bird” and Along Those Lines. He will give a reading from his work Thursday, September 11, at 7 p.m. in CEIT, Room 1005.


Posted in Awards, News