Literature
College of Arts and Humanities

Statesboro Campus Faculty and Staff

Main Office: 912-478-5133
Location: 3307 Newton Building


Megan Bowen
3308D Newton Building
912-478-7740
mbowen@georgiasouthern.edu

Cynthia DeVoe
Sr. Administrative Assistant
Gamble Hall 105 – Armstrong
912-344-2594
cdevoe@georgiasouthern.edu

Yvette Wheeler
Administrative Assistant
Gamble Hall 103 – Armstrong
912-344-2574
ywheeler@georgiasouthern.edu


Faculty

Dr. Beth Howells
Department Chair
3307B Newton Building
912-478-5133
bhowells@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Greensboro

Writing, Rhetoric, Gender and Women’s Studies, Composition Studies, 19th Century British Literature

 Dr. Dustin Anderson
Associate Professor
3302B Newton Building
912-478-1354
danderson@georgiasouthern.edu

Transnational Modernism; British & Irish Literature; Drama; Literary Criticism and Theory

Dr. Lindsey Chappell
Assistant Professor
3304B Newton Building
912-478-6095
lchappell@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Olivia Carr Edenfield
Professor
2220B Newton Building
912-478-0155
carr@georgiasouthern.edu

American Literature

 Dr. Bradley Edwards
Senior Lecturer
3306A Newton Building
912-478-5350
bradedwards@georgiasouthern.edu

 The American Novel; The American Journey Novel; Multicultural American Literature; Bharati Mukherjee; Ernest Hemingway; Cormac McCarthy; Herman Melville

Dr. Julia Griffin
Associate Professor
2219B Newton Building
912-478-1412
jgriffin@georgiasouthern.edu

Renaissance Literature

Dr. Howard Keeley
Director of The Center for Irish Research and Teaching
Assistant Professor
3305A Newton Building
912-478-0221
hkeeley@georgiasouthern.edu

 Modern Irish Literature

Dr. Gautam Kundu
Professor
3305B Newton Building
912-478-5896
gkundu@georgiasouthern.edu

 Modern American Literature; Postcolonial Theory

Dr. Joe Pellegrino
Associate Professor
3308B Newton Building
912-478-5853
jpellegrino@GeorgiaSouthern.edu

Irish Literature; Postcolonial Literature; World Literature; Critical Theory

Dr. Caren Town
Professor
3304D Newton Building
912-478-5803
cartow@georgiasouthern.edu

 19th- and 20th-Century American Literature; Young Adult Fiction; Critical Theory

Dr. Mary A. Villeponteaux
Director of Graduate Studies
Professor
3302A Newton Building
912-478-5905
mvilleponteaux@georgiasouthern.edu

English Renaissance Literature; Shakespeare

Dr. Timothy Whelan
Professor
3301B Newton Building
912-478-0871
timwhel@georgiasouthern.edu

 Early American Literature; American Religious Studies

Last updated: 8/3/2020

Department of Literature

P.O. Box 1997 • Room 103 • Gamble Hall • 11935 Abercorn Street • Savannah, GA 31419 • 912-344-2594

P.O. Box 8023 • Room 3307 • Newton Building • 622 COBA Drive • Statesboro, GA 30460 • 912-478-5133