Literature
College of Arts and Humanities

Armstrong Campus Faculty and Staff

Main Office: 912-344-2594
Location: 103 Gamble Hall


Stephanie Herren
Academic Advisor
Armstrong Advisement Center
912-344-2673
sherren@georgiasouthern.edu

Cynthia DeVoe
Sr. Administrative Assistant
Gamble Hall 105 – Armstrong
912-344-2594
cdevoe@georgiasouthern.edu

Yvette Wheeler
Administrative Assistant
Gamble Hall 103 – Armstrong
912-344-2574
ywheeler@georgiasouthern.edu


Faculty

Dr. Beth Howells
Department Chair
Gamble Hall 101
912-344-2867
bhowells@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Greensboro

Writing, Rhetoric, Gender and Women’s Studies, Composition Studies, 19th Century British Literature

 Dr. Christopher Baker
Professor
Gamble Hall 130
912-344-3188
cbaker@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

English Renaissance literature, religion and literature

 Dr. Hans-Georg Erney
Associate Professor
Gamble Hall 136
912-344-2696
herney@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Emory University

Postcolonialism, Ecocriticism, South Asian Literature, Twentieth-Century British Literature

Dr. Carol Jamison
Professor
Gamble Hall 238
912-344-3097
cjamison@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Georgia

Chaucer, Early English Literature, History of the English Language, Advanced Grammar, Arthurian Literature

Dr. Amanda Konkle
Assistant Professor
Gamble Hall 206
912-344-2625
akonkle@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Kentucky

Film Studies, Cultural Studies, American Literature, Gender and Women’s Studies

Dr. Kendra R. Parker
Assistant Professor
Gamble Hall 236
912-344-2621
kparker@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Howard University

African American Literature, Gender and Women’s Studies, Africana Studies

Dr. Jane Rago
Assistant Professor
Director, Gender and Women’s Studies
Gamble Hall 237
912-344-2937
jrago@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., West Virginia University

First-Year Experience, Composition, 19th-Century British Literature

Dr. James Smith
Professor
Editor, Southern Poetry Review
Gamble Hall 232
912-344-3196
jmsmith@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Creative Writing, American Literature

 Dr. Hapsatou Wane
Assistant Professor
Gamble Hall 142
912-344-3342
hwane@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Comparative World literature, Africa and the Diaspora literature, French and francophone literature, Gender and Women’s Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Autobiography Studies

Last updated: 6/22/2020

Department of Literature

P.O. Box 1997 • Room 103 • Gamble Hall • 11935 Abercorn Street • Savannah, GA 31419 • 912-344-2594

P.O. Box 8023 • Room 3307 • Newton Building • 622 COBA Drive • Statesboro, GA 30460 • 912-478-5133