Skip to main content

CLASS Faculty Receives Awards at Convocation, CLASS Faculty Meeting

William Smith Ruffin Cup_web

CreativeMind_blueFaculty from the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences received awards at the Georgia Southern University Convocation and the CLASS 2016 Fall Faculty Meeting prior to the start of the fall semester.

In the morning Convocation, Derek Larson and Christina Lemon, both from the Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art, were among six faculty members to received the 2016-2017 Georgia Southern University Awards for Excellence.

Larson was awarded the Excellence in Research/Creative Scholarly Activity Award for his research efforts in addition to fulfilling regular full-time teaching responsibilities. Lemon took home the Excellence in Service Award for providing assistance to the community and region.

At the CLASS Faculty Meeting, the Department of Sociology and Anthropology swept the awards. April M. Schueths was presented with the CLASS Award for Excellence while William L. Smith received the prestigious Ruffin Cup.

The CLASS Award of Excellence honors outstanding activity by faculty members early in their career. Open to full-time faculty members in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, the award is presented to tenure-track or non-tenure faculty members who are in their first 10 years of college-level teaching and excel in teaching, scholarship, creative activity, and service.

The Ruffin Cup recognizes the highest achievement in teaching, scholarship, and service in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences. It is awarded annually to a teacher-scholar with at least 10 years of service to Georgia Southern University and who combines excellent teaching with outstanding contributions to the spirit of the liberal arts.


Posted in Awards, Faculty, Faculty Highlights