Skip to main content

BFSDoArt Awards 14 Students with Scholarships & Awards

On Friday, April 5, 2014, the Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art’s (BFSDoArt) students, donors, community, family and friends honored fourteen students, both undergraduate and graduate, with scholarships and awards for the 2014/15 academic year.

A ceremony titled Celebrating Student Excellence, planned and hosted by Dr. Julie McGuire, Professor of Art History, recognized these students’ achievements, hard work and dedication. McGuire had the extreme pleasure of recognizing the BFSDoArt 2014 Scholarships and Awards recipients.

“It is our job here at the BFSDoArt to instill and encourage creative and effective visual communication, critical thinking, cooperative learning, and as well as to teach necessary skill sets and the latest technology, so our students are fully equipped to participate in the real world experience,” explained Dr. McGuire. Then she turned to her attention to the students in attendance, “And, even though we are recognizing a select few today, know that the faculty are proud of all of you and know you all have the potential to be the fabulous artist, designer, art historian, or print professional that you can be. Right-brainers will rule the world!”

Additionally, McGuire was able to express BFSDoArt’s equally extreme gratitude to their donors, some of whom were there that day.

“It is your support that makes it possible for our students to take trips to museums and galleries for inspiration, to be able to purchase supplies, books, tuition, and continue their education. We cannot thank you enough for all you do to support our students,” McGuire explained.

Not only was each student each awarded with a handcrafted trophy and star-power confetti, Professor Elsie Taliaferro Hill surprised the students with an exhibition, featuring them, at the Dick Blick Gallery located in Savannah’s historic district on Broughton Street. The exhibition will take place this fall.

BFSDoArt scholarship and award recipients for the 2014/15 academic year include:

Recipient Scholarship &/or Award
Alexis Barber Printing Industry Association of Georgia Scholarship
Macie Giordano Camp Scholarship
& the Mendel Segal Scholarship
Justin Alderman Quad/Graphics
Rebekah Thompson George Wallis Scholarship
Timothy Davis Nelson Dow/Dana Kastory Southeastern Prepress Scholarship
Rachel Pettit Betty Foy Sanders Scholarship (1st Place)
D’Antre Harris Betty Foy Sanders Scholarship (2nd Place)
& the Rosalind D. Ragans Art Scholarship.
Emily Oren Betty Foy Sanders Scholarship (3rd Place)
& the Robert J. Focht Memorial Drawing Award
Abbie Hutchins Betty Foy Sanders Scholarship (Incoming Freshman)
Brittni Favorite Peter Smith Memorial Graphic Design Award
Bridget Morningstar Jeff Nichols Art History Award
Whitney Reddish Eagle Nation on Parade Scholarship
Ruth Patel Carolyn Joyner Memorial Scholarship Award
Claudia Furlow Roxie Remley Scholarship


Posted in Archive, Events, Noteworthy, Student Success